I can’t keep apologising

Okay so here I am again and it’s been a while… I can’t keep saying sorry I haven’t blogged so can we just take it that I have other things to prevaricate about and take it as read that I’m going to have blogging down the list between housework and washing the dog. And before you ask, no I haven’t washed the dog and the house is a tip so think yourself lucky.

So what shall we talk about? ….. nope me neither.

I finished the first edits of my children’s/young adults/adults book the other day and am waiting for it to come back covered in comments again. I HATE edits, I’ve moved on from there, I’m trying to write the first of an adult trilogy (not adult in THAT sense, just a book for adults) I don’t care about the book that went before it’s no longer in my head cluttering up my brain. I have spewed it out of my fingertips, which isn’t easy let me tell you. But, I did it, it’s gone, lets move on say I but no, sadly the publisher wants it to be right and perfect and all that stuff… he wants icing on his cake so it looks good.

Then I get all confused, I have another book being spewed out and my editor (who’s a lovely person really) says things like ‘I don’t feel this carries through the whole story, you might want to change it’ and I scream “NO! I bloody well don’t… but I see your point” So I’m cleaning up my own mess while trying to make another mess and I get confused. My poor old fibro brain starts to shut down… it’s screaming ‘Overload’ at me and I sit looking at the walls with drool trailing down my chin.

So now I’m wondering, do I wait until the one book is finished before going back to the other one. Do I sit and wait for the edits to return or do I get on with the book I am interested in. It’s not like I have nothing else to do, like all good mothers I have lots of books to read and housework to ignore. And now my brain has tangled itself up in it’s own shoe laces again so I’m going to leave it there… my brain or the blog? I don’t know just sign off or something! No you sign off! No you….

2 thoughts on “I can’t keep apologising

  1. byronsuggs says:

    I have those same problems to some extent. I’m horrible at keeping up with blogs and what did I do? Created two! I’ve killed one now (Blogspot) and rarely post on the other (WordPress). Then I got fidgety and created another one (Weebly). I’m an infant at heart. Bright, shiny things fascinate me but I bore with them after a few minutes. Then there’s my website and Facebook Page. Bottom line: my writing will always trump the social networking task.

    As for the book to book dilemma, I hear ya. I started my second book when I thought I had all but sold my first. When I found out the publisher opted not to buy it, I’d already gotten so deep in book two that I just put book one off to the side as a piddle project and kept writing on #2. (Book one DID eventually sell, but did so almost on its own.) Now I’m fishing book #2 for an agent while trying to write book #3, but I’m having a tough time focusing because I need closure for book #2. As soon as I have an agent for #2 I think I can let go a bit and concentrate better on #3. Oh, and I, too, am doing edits with an editor on my 1st book, but that will be an ongoing thing that you have to get used to. I treat that like having to do homework.

    Good luck with getting it all sorted out in your head!

    • fibrochimp says:

      It’s more like doing lines… “I will get it right, I will get it right” 🙂 I don’t think my head is ever going to be straight, but then you have to be a little mad to want to write in the first place.

Please Leave a Reply

